Connect with us


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed their Test Team of the Year, however only one Indian player was selected. It’s Not Even Close to Virat Kohli

On Tuesday, the International Cricket Council revealed the members of the Test Team that will compete in 2022.

Ben Stokes has been given the responsibility of captaining the XI, which also includes two of his teammates from England, Jonny Bairstow and James Anderson.

Babar Azam, one of the best batters in Pakistan, has also been selected for the team. Rishabh Pant, a wicketkeeper-batsman who was involved in a horrific vehicle accident just two days before the new year, was the only Indian player to be selected for the ICC Men’s Test team of 2022. Pant is now making a recovery from the injuries he incurred in the accident.

The 25-year-old had a phenomenal year at the plate, scoring 680 runs in 12 innings for an average of 61.81 and a strike rate of 90.90. He had a great year with the bat. He finished the year with two hundreds and four fifty-point scores.

He had a decent year with the gloves as well, producing six stumpings and taking 23 catches in addition to his 21 sixes he hit in Tests in 2022.

Ben Stokes, who is the captain of England and is known for his aggressive style of cricket, has been named captain of the Test XI, which also includes his teammates Jonny Bairstow and James Anderson. Stokes is credited for transforming the team during his time as captain.

There are four Australians on the ICC Test XI, including the captain, Pat Cummins, who is part of a speed combination that also includes South African star Kagiso Rabada and Anderson.

The lineup is finished off by the captains of Pakistan and the West Indies, Babar Azam and Kraigg Brathwaite, respectively.

The only two Indians to earn spots on the ICC One-Day International Team of 2022, which will be captained by Pakistan’s Babar Azam, are Shreyas Iyer, a batter in the middle order, and Mohammed Siraj, a promising bowler.

Iyer served as the dependable anchor in India’s star-studded batting lineup for the 50-over match in the successful 2022 tournament.

Iyer, who spent the majority of the year batting in the fourth spot, participated in 17 matches, during which he amassed 724 runs at a rate of 55.69 runs per game.

He scored his runs at a rapid average of 91.52, which included one century and six fifties, to solidify his spot in India’s ODI scheme of things in advance of the World Cup in October and November.

In the absence of an injured Jasprit Bumrah, Siraj concluded as the highest wicket-taker for the Men in Blue with 24 scalps in 15 ODIs. Siraj was one of the bowlers who improved the most in white-ball cricket, and he finished as the leading wicket-taker overall.

His best numbers were 3/29, and he took wickets at an economy rate of 4.62 runs per wicket and an average of 23.50 runs per over.

Ben Stokes, Usman Khawaja, Kraigg Brathwaite, Marnus Labuschagne, Babar Azam, Jonny Bairstow, Rishabh Pant (wk), Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon, and James Anderson will make up the ICC Test Team of 2022.

The ICC One-Day International Team of 2022 will be comprised of the following players: Babar Azam (captain), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult, and Adam Zampa.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: