Connect with us


Suryakumar Yadav Has Been Named The Best T20I Batsman, Beating Out MS Dhoni And Suresh Raina

Since making his debut for India in an international match against England in March 2021, batsman Suryakumar Yadav has been on a quest, especially when it comes to Twenty20 International cricket.

This past week, the International Cricket Council honoured Suryakumar with the title of men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2022. Suryakumar is now the highest ranked hitter in the format.

With his score of 47 runs off 34 balls in the first Twenty20 International (T20I) between India and New Zealand on Friday, Suryakumar moved up significantly in the rankings of the T20I run-scorers.

He moved up the chart, passing former batsman Suresh Raina and iconic captain MS Dhoni, to become India’s fifth-highest run scorer in the format.

Suryakumar has 1,625 runs in 44 innings thus far, average little over 46. Dhoni concluded his Twenty20 International career with 1,617 runs after playing in 98 matches, while Raina finished with 1,605 runs after playing in 78 matches.

India’s top run scorers in Twenty20 Internationals

Virat Kohli – 4,008
Rohit Sharma – 3,853 KL Rahul – 2,265
Shikhar Dhawan – 1,759
Suryakumar Yadav – 1,625

New Zealand won the first Twenty20 International by a decisive margin of 21 runs thanks to fifties scored by Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell in rapid succession.

After being asked to bat first in Ranchi, the New Zealand cricket team posted a score of 176-6. Conway scored 52 runs off of 35 balls, and Mitchell hit 59 runs while remaining unbeaten.

In spite of being swept in the one-day internationals 3-0 by Australia, New Zealand won the first match of the three-game series by holding the home team to 155-9 runs and taking the lead 1-0.

Mitchell Santner, who is New Zealand’s designated captain for the series, excelled with his left-arm spin, accumulating figures of 2-11, while fellow spinner Michael Bracewell and fast bowler Lockie Ferguson also took two wickets each. Lockie Ferguson is New Zealand’s designated captain for the series.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: