Connect with us


Sunil Narine terminates KKR’s three-match wicket drought against CSK.

Sunil Narine terminates KKR's three-match wicket drought against CSK.

On Sunday, May 14, the 61st match of the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) featured a matchup between the four-time champion Chennai Super Kings and the Nitish Rana-led Kolkata Knight Riders at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway only scored 17 and 30 runs, respectively, after winning the toss and electing to bat first for Chennai. Kolkata’s bowling assault posed a significant obstacle for the four-time champions.

The impact of veteran Windies all-rounder Sunil Narine’s bowling on Kolkata was particularly notable. After three matches, Narine captured his first scalp. His last wicket came against the defending champions Gujarat Titans in the 39th game of the tournament, and his next wicket came against Chennai in the 61st game.

Ambati Rayudu, who was participating in his 200th game of the tournament, was eliminated by Narine. Rayudu was dismissed for only four runs. Moeen Ali was dismissed by Narine for a single run, bringing his total to five wickets.

KKR seeks its sixth victory of the IPL 2023.
Kolkata’s chances of securing a postseason berth are currently dismal. The two-time champions are in eighth position in the IPL standings with 10 points after 12 games. Having fallen to the bottom of the standings, the team led by Nitish Rana would seek to win their remaining games and go all out in their bid to reach the tournament’s postseason.

They would be eager to complete the pursuit of 145 runs in the second innings. On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings are in a relatively comfortable position in the standings, as the four-time champions are in second place with 15 points after 12 matches. Following an outstanding victory against Delhi Capitals, they would be eager to continue their winning ways.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: