Connect with us


Pakistan selects Naseem Shah for the Asia Cup and Netherlands ODIs

Both the 15-member T20I team for the next Asia Cup and the 16-member One-Day International team for Pakistan’s trip of the Netherlands feature uncapped white-ball bowler Naseem Shah in place of Hasan Ali, who is out of form. Salman Agha, an all-rounder who has played in 13 Tests for Pakistan, will join the 19-year-old pacer in the ODI series, which is a part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

Shaheen Afridi, a left-handed bowler for Pakistan, has been included in both teams as well. However, the country’s statement on the matter reads, “His recovery programme will be overseen by the team coach and physiotherapist, who will also decide on his comeback to international cricket.”

Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Usman Qadir will replace Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha, and Zahid Mehmood in the ODI squad and Asia Cup, respectively.

Mohammad Wasim, the head selector, said the following regarding the team selection: “Only changes that were required were made. We have chosen our best available players in collaboration with the captain and head coach because both competitions are crucial to us.


“Hasan has taken a hiatus from playing international cricket, and Naseem Shah has taken his position. He can help the fast bowling section, which already has Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Shahnawaz Dahani, gain more momentum because of his express quickness. Naseem hasn’t played any white-ball cricket for an international team, but he’s shown in red-ball matches that he can be an aggressive option with good pace and controlled swing.


“Salman Ali Agha was called up to the ODI team because to his successful performances in the last two Pakistan Cup competitions, when he averaged 40.33 and 48.8, respectively. Additionally, he offers Babar Azam another bowling option.”

The players will participate in two 50-over matches during a training camp from August 6–11 before they leave Lahore. On August 12, the teams will leave for Amsterdam, and on August 22, the players chosen for the T20I squad will arrive in Dubai.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: