Connect with us


New Zealand announces 13-man squad for Sri Lanka Test series

New Zealand announces 13-man squad for Sri Lanka Test series

New Zealand will play Sri Lanka in a two-match Test series beginning on March 9; their squad has been announced. The Black Caps have announced a 13-man squad that will be led by Tim Southee for the upcoming Tests.

Incidentally, all thirteen players participated in the recent 1-1 tie against England. Nevertheless, uncapped seamer Jacob Duffy, leg spinner Ish Sodhi, and injured Kyle Jamieson were not selected.

Previously, Jamieson was named to the England series squad. Later, he was removed from the same because he required back surgery.
The team coached by Tim Southee recently triumphed in a tense contest, defeating England in the second match at Wellington by the narrowest of margins (one run). After winning the first Test, Ben Stokes and company want a 2-0 clean sweep. However, New Zealand won the second Test in Wellington by one run to even the series.

Kane Williamson will continue to lead the New Zealand batting lineup alongside Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, and Will Young. Tom Blundell will continue to be the wicket-keeper hitter, but Michael Bracewell will be the spin department’s major player. Neil Wagner, a left-handed pitcher, is another guy to admire. The lineup also includes Matt Henry, Blair Tickner, and Scott Kuggeleijn as pacers.

As part of the ongoing World Test Championship (WTC), the two Tests between New Zealand and Sri Lanka will conclude in June. Significantly, reigning champions New Zealand are eliminated from final contention. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, will face either India or Australia if it hopes to reach the final.
Christchurch will host the opening Test. Meanwhile, the final Test will begin on March 17 in Wellington.

Tim Southee (captain), Tom Blundell (wicket keeper), Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson, and Will Young comprise the New Zealand squad against Sri Lanka.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: