Connect with us


Marco Jansen’s double-wicket over gives Sunrisers Hyderabad an early advantage against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Marco Jansen's double-wicket over gives Sunrisers Hyderabad an early advantage against Kolkata Knight Riders.

On Thursday, May 4, 2023, the 47th match of the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) was played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). Nitish Rana, captain of KKR, won the toss and elected to bat first. Jason Roy replaced David Wiese in the KKR starting eleven, while Aiden Markram’s squad reintroduced Kartik Tyagi.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz was dismissed for a duck by Marco Jansen in the very first over for SRH. The Afghan wicketkeeper-batsman attempted to hit the very first delivery, but his timing was off and Harry Brook made an outstanding catch.

Venkatesh Iyer was dismissed by Jansen for just seven runs in the same over. Iyer drew the delivery but misjudged the bounce, resulting in it being caught by Heinrich Klaasen behind the wickets.

In their previous encounter, KKR lost to the defending champions Gujarat Titans (GT). Gurbaz was essential for KKR despite their loss, scoring 81 runs off 39 deliveries. His fifty was also the highest score by an Afghan batter in the annals of the Indian Premier League.

In their previous meeting on April 29 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, SRH triumphed over Delhi Capitals (DC) in an exhilarating fashion. Abhishek Sharma and Klaasen both scored fifty runs as SRH set a target of 198 runs for the hosts. Mayank Markande took two wickets, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Akeal Hosein, T Natarajan, and Abhishek Sharma each took one, and the SRH bowlers were instrumental in restricting Delhi’s pursuit to 188/6 in 20 overs, with David Warner’s side led by 188 runs.

SRH defeated KKR by 23 runs in their first encounter of the current IPL season. Aiden Markram’s squad is presently eighth in the IPL 2023 standings with six points after winning only three of their eight matches. KKR, on the other hand, possesses six points and is eighth in the standings.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: