Connect with us


In the United States’ 15-man squad for World Cup 2023 Qualifying, Corey Anderson was omitted.

In the United States' 15-man squad for World Cup 2023 Qualifying, Corey Anderson was omitted.

The United States has omitted former New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson from their 15-man squad for the 2023 ODI World Cup qualifiers. Notably, the dynamic all-rounder announced his retirement from the New Zealand national team and decided to join the United States’ cricketing enterprises in 2020, including the Major League Cricket (MLC).

Despite being eligible for a USA call-up earlier in 2023, Anderson was not included in the 15-man squad. Notably, the selectors retained the 14-member squad that toured Namibia in March and added left-arm pacer Abhishek Paradkar to their roster.

Paradkar rejoins the national team after a twenty-month absence; his last appearance was in September 2021. Nisarg Patel, Nosthush Kenjige, and Usman Rafiq are the three spin specialists who have qualified for the qualifying round.

In addition, Monank Patel will continue to head the team, while Aaron Jones has been appointed as his assistant. Group A consists of the United States, Nepal, West Indies, Netherlands, and Zimbabwe.

With the season opener against West Indies, the United States will aim for the top two.
In addition, on Sunday, June 18 in Harare, the team will begin its journey to the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 by facing two-time winners West Indies. Before the competition, the United States will play two warm-up matches against Ireland and Sri Lanka.

Notable is the fact that the ten participating nations are competing for the final two spots in the ODI World Cup 2023. In the month of October, India will host the mega ODI showcase event. In addition, the ICC has not yet released the official schedule and may do so after the conclusion of the World Cup Qualifiers.

USA Squad: Monank Patel (c), Aaron Jones (vc), Steven Taylor, Gajanand Singh, Sai Teja Mukkamalla, Saurabh Netravalkar, Nisarg Patel, Kyle Phillip, Jasdeep Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Usman Rafiq, Abhishek Paradkar, Ali Khan, Shayan Jahangir, Sushant Modani.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: