Connect with us


Glenn Maxwell and Mitch Marsh return as Australia names ODI squad to face India

Glenn Maxwell and Mitch Marsh return as Australia names ODI squad to face India

Mitch Marsh and Glenn Maxwell are ready to return to international cricket as they will participate in the ODI series slated to take place in India next month. Cricket Australia announced a 16-man roster for the three-match ODI series against India, which will serve as preparation for the World Cup, which will be held in India later this year.

In addition to the two all-rounders, speedster Jhye Richardson will return to the national team. Three players have returned home from the present Test series for various reasons. As David Warner was ruled out of the series in the middle of the second Test owing to injury, Ashton Agar returned to Western Australia to play domestic cricket.

Pat Cummins, the Australian captain, left home for personal reasons, but he will return before the start of the third Test next Monday. Marsh and Maxwell missed a significant amount of time due to surgeries they underwent during the home summer, but they will play on the three-match trip that will follow the current Test campaign, with games scheduled in Mumbai, Vijayawada, and Chennai.
While Maxwell has been playing for Victoria in the Sheffield Sheild, Marsh is expected to make his debut for Western Australia in the Marsh One-Day Cup this weekend. The all-rounder combination will play a crucial role in Australia’s ODI campaign at the World Cup in October and November of this year.

Richardson is also returning to the squad following an injury-induced absence from international cricket. Due to a hamstring injury, he missed the BBL finals and hasn’t played since the beginning of January. Since the completion of Australia’s white-ball tour in Sri Lanka a year ago, the 26-year-old has not participated for his country. Josh Hazlewood is unable to participate in the ODI series due to an Achilles injury that prompted him to depart the Test series early.

Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, and Adam Zampa comprise the Australia ODI team.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in BGT

%d bloggers like this: