Connect with us

Commonwealth Games

For the One-Day International Series Between India and Zimbabwe, Shahbaz Ahmed Will Play in Place of “Injured” Washington Sundar

The “injured” Washington Sundar has been replaced by Shahbaz Ahmed in the one-day international series that is currently being played between India and Zimbabwe.

On Tuesday, the All-India Senior Selection Committee made the announcement that Washington Sundar would be replaced by Shahbaz Ahmed for the forthcoming one-day international series against Zimbabwe, which will begin on August 18 in Harare. The series will consist of three matches. “While competing for his County in England, Washington Sundar had an injury to his shoulder. Because of this, he will not be going on the tour of Zimbabwe “as indicated in an official statement that was distributed by the board to the public on Tuesday.

The first One-Day International match between India and Zimbabwe will take place at the Harare Sports Club on August 18, 2022.

Shikhar Dhawan was initially slated to be India’s captain for the series against Zimbabwe; however, after KL Rahul was evaluated and found to be in good health, it was decided that the right-handed batter would be India’s captain instead.

In the one-day international series against Zimbabwe, key players such as Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, and Yuzvendra Chahal will not play because they are receiving rest.

On Saturday, Team India boarded a flight for their trip to Zimbabwe. In addition, images of the team’s departure were posted to the official BCCI Twitter account before they were sent to Zimbabwe.

Dhawan recently led India to a 3-0 victory in the one-day international series against West Indies. Dhawan and Shubman Gill had established themselves as a formidable opening partnership.

Zimbabwe, on the other side, had emerged victorious in both the ODI and the T20I series against Bangladesh.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: KL Rahul (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Shahbaz Ahmed.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in Commonwealth Games

%d bloggers like this: