Connect with us


England will face New Zealand to begin the 2023 World Cup in Ahmedabad.

England will face New Zealand to begin the 2023 World Cup in Ahmedabad.

According to reports, the defending champions England will face the losing finalists of the 2019 World Cup in the opening match of this year’s ICC mega event. The two countries are expected to meet in the opening match of the World Cup on October 5 in Ahmedabad, and the final is scheduled for the Narendra Modi Stadium on November 19.

According to a report by Cricbuzz, India will face Australia in their campaign opener in Chennai. In addition, the source confirmed that India’s archrivals Pakistan have consented to travel to the host nation for the global tournament, despite their ongoing disagreement over the plans for this year’s Asia Cup.

While the World Cup’s opening and closing ceremonies are scheduled to take place in Ahmedabad, Pakistan has requested a change of venue for their group games, as they do not wish to play at the Narendra Modi Stadium. However, they have consented to host the final if their team qualifies for the championship match. A tentative schedule indicates that the Men Green will likely play their matches in Ahmedabad, Hyderabad, Chennai, and Bengaluru.

Mohali and Nagpur are absent from the provisional World Cup venue list.
In addition to the previously mentioned cities, Kolkata, Delhi, Indore, Dharamsala, Guwahati, Rajkot, Raipur, and Mumbai will also play host to matches during the quadrennial tournament. While Mohali and Nagpur are notable omissions from the list of venues, the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai will presumably host one of the semifinals.

After the conclusion of the current 16th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is anticipated to make an official announcement. The governing body of cricket is anticipated to have the final say on fixture scheduling and venue selection. Ten teams, including the hosts India, will compete in the tournament, with South Africa being the most recent team to qualify directly.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: