Connect with us


Earlier than the ODI World Cup, Australia will visit South Africa.

Earlier than the ODI World Cup, Australia will visit South Africa.

Prior to the ODI World Cup 2023, Australia will visit South Africa for a three-match T20I series and a five-match ODI series beginning August 30 in Durban. Given that all of the match dates and locations have been decided upon, it is noteworthy that Cricket South Africa (CSA) has verified the same.

Even though Aaron Finch declared his retirement from international cricket, the visiting side has yet to name their new T20I captain. The bilateral series will be crucial for ODI cricket since both countries will be trying to finalize their starting lineups and whole squads before the World Cup in India.

It will be interesting to watch if the Kangaroos give pacers like Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc much-needed break before traveling to the subcontinent. Pacers like these will play six Test matches in England for over two months (the World Test Championship final and the Ashes 2023) and are notable for doing so.

In order to balance his workload, Cummins previously acknowledged that he will occasionally hand off the ODI captaincy to a different person. Thus, it is expected that he along with his fellow pacers and some other significant players may forgo the tour in order to keep themselves healthy for the flagship tournament.

However, following The Hundred in England, white-ball experts Glenn Maxwell, Tim David, and Mitchell Marsh will arrive in South Africa. They will therefore be considerably more rested than the athletes who will take part in the Test series in England.

The Proteas most recently defeated the Netherlands 2-0 to secure their World Cup qualification. They currently have no other series scheduled, thus all of the players will be available for selection when they play Australia. Additionally, this will aid the Temba Bavuma-led team’s preparation for the World Cup.

August 30: First T20I, Durban for the 2023 Australia Tour of South Africa

September 1: Second T20I, Durban

Third T20I, September 3, Durban

First ODI, Bloemfontein, September 7.

Second ODI, Bloemfontein, September 9.

Third ODI, Potchefstroom, September 12.

Fourth ODI, Centurion, Sept. 15

Fifth ODI, September 17, Johannesburg

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: