The decision made by the third umpire to remove star allrounder Hardik Pandya in the first one-day international match against New Zealand on Wednesday left Indian fans in Hyderabad feeling upset. The match was being played in Hyderabad.
Pandya was unable to move freely owing to a delivery from Daryl Mitchell, and as a result of the ball’s additional bounce, the Indian batter ended up missing it entirely.
It appeared as though the ball went past the stumps, and the bails were knocked loose as a result. There was a lack of clarity on the matter due to the fact that it was possible that Tom Latham’s gloves had tampered with the stumps.
After watching TV replays, the third umpire came to the conclusion that the ball had hit the bails, which caused the light to turn on, before the ball was caught by the wicketkeeper.
Videos, on the other hand, suggested that the wicketkeeper’s gloves were the cause of the bails being knocked off rather than the ball. Hardik Pandya was declared to be knocked out after playing 38 balls and scoring 28 runs.
Natasa Stankovic, who is married to Hardik Pandya, expressed her dissatisfaction with the decision. She voiced her viewpoint by posting on Instagram, which is widely used.
“There was no use of a bat, and he was not dismissed by a bowling delivery. So what’s the deal with this?” She stated in an Instagram story alongside a photo of the occurrence that she had posted on Instagram.