Connect with us


Beginning on March 6, Cape Town will host the Over 50s Cricket World Cup.

Beginning on March 6, Cape Town will host the Over 50s Cricket World Cup.

The highly anticipated Over 50s cricket world cup in Cape Town, which is slated to start on March 6, will include the best players from all over the world. 14 international teams—South Africa, England, Wales, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, India, United Arab Emirates, Namibia, United States, and Canada—will compete in the tournament.

The massive event will take place in a number of locations in Cape Town, including the Western Province Cricket Club, Claremont Cricket Club, Green Point Cricket Club, and Cape Town Cricket Club, as well as the University of Stellenbosch and a number of high schools nearby. The competition’s championship game will be held on March 20 at the renowned Newlands Cricket Ground.

Louis Koen, the captain of South Africa, expressed his optimism about his team’s chances of winning the competition. The Over-50s Cricket World Cup looks to be an exciting and fiercely competitive competition. We are confident in our skills and are eager to represent our nation on the international scene,” he stated.
Evergreen Living, the top supplier of senior living options in South Africa, will sponsor the competition.

Phil Wilson, Sales Director of Evergreen Living, said, “We are happy to be sponsoring the Over-50s Cricket World Cup and supporting the continued health of cricket in South Africa.”

Wilson added, “As a firm that is dedicated to supporting socially and physically active retirement lifestyles, we believe that sports like cricket play a crucial role in sustaining physical and mental health.”
Several cricket players from across the world visited Cape Town two years ago, and Phil Wilson said, “It will be lovely to have them here. This time around, we look forward to a full tournament with many exciting matches and moments.”

two divisions have been created for the 14 teams.
The 14 teams have been split into Divisions A and B. In Division B, along with the hosts South Africa, are Pakistan, India, Wales, Namibia, England, and United Arab Emirates. In Division A, the other teams are Australia, Sri Lanka, the West Indies, Canada, Zimbabwe, New Zealand, and the United States.

“After a lot of planning and logistics, we are happy to finally be welcoming everyone to Cape Town, especially newcomers to the veteran cricket scene, the USA and the UAE,” said tournament director Roger Moult. We are eager to recapture the enthusiasm and passion that were present in 2020.

For both players and spectators, the Over 50s Cricket World Cup promises to be an exciting competition. Later this week, the whole competition schedule will be made available on the website.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: