Connect with us

Commonwealth Games

Babar Azam on the Pressure of Playing India in the 2022 Asia Cup: “Pressure Is Always There”

During a media conference, a journalist asked Pakistan captain Babar Azam if his side felt any pressure ahead of the next Asia Cup 2022, where they are expected to meet India three times.

Matches between India and Pakistan are always highly anticipated by cricket fans. However, fans haven’t seen a bilateral series between the two nations since January 2013, so they haven’t had an opportunity to see the fight between the two sides on a cricket pitch. Only in the case of multi-team competitions, however, can fans get to show their support for their teams in the crucial match. The low volume of head-to-head contests over the past decade has only served to elevate the value of this showdown.

Still, Pakistan’s captain, Babar Azam, is not bashful about saying that the pressure on his team’s players is at an all-time high whenever they face an opponent.

Asked by a reporter if the Pakistan team felt any pressure ahead of the next Asia Cup 2022, in which they are expected to meet India in three matches, Babar responded in the positive.

“Look, all we’re trying to do is treat the game like any other. The pressure is plainly different, thus you’re right. But just like we did in the (T20) World Cup in 2021, we’ll have to keep our heads down, trust our teammates, and play our best. We intend to repeat our previous efforts in full force. It’s up to us to put up the effort, but the outcome is out of our control “In a video posted by Pakistan Cricket, Babar made the claim.

India and Pakistan will play each other on August 28 in Dubai. And since the Super-4 stage is also a round robin, it’s conceivable that India and Pakistan may meet again this season. If both sides make it to the final, it will be the third time India and Pakistan have played each other in this tournament.

Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, and Rohit Sharma (captain) are on India’s roster.

Babar Azam captained the Pakistani team, with Shadab Khan as his vice captain. Other players included Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in Commonwealth Games

%d bloggers like this: