Connect with us


Among the Indian players honored the MCC life membership are MS Dhoni and Mithali Raj.

Among the Indian players honored the MCC life membership are MS Dhoni and Mithali Raj.

Several of the finest men’s and women’s cricket players have received honorary life memberships from the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), keepers of the game’s laws. On Wednesday, they announced the addition of 19 new Honorary Life Members, with eight of the twelve Test-playing nations represented.

Five Indian cricketers—Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Jhulan Goswami, and Mithali Raj—have received the MCC Honorary Life Membership. The Indian side that won the 2007 ICC Men’s World T20 and the 2011 ICC Men’s World Cup included the former India captain, Dhoni, and Yuvraj. The amazing 13-year career of Raina, on the other hand, has seen him hit more over 5,500 runs in ODIs.

The most wickets in Women’s ODIs have been taken by female cricketer Goswami, who retired from international play in the Women’s One-Day International (ODI) against England at Lord’s in 2022. The former captain of India, Mithali, currently holds the top spot on the list of all-time run scorers with 7,805 runs in 211 innings.

The five former English players to get the honor are Kevin Pietersen, Jenny Gunn, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, and Eoin Morgan. At the Lord’s Cricket Ground, Gunn, Marsh, and Shrubsole all participated in England’s win in the 2017 Women’s ODI World Cup, while Morgan led England to victory in the 2019 ICC Men’s World Cup. As England won the 2010 ICC Men’s World T20, Pietersen, a four-time Ashes champion, was awarded Player of the Tournament.

Merissa Aguilleira, a former West Indies wicketkeeper-batsman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Hafeez, a Pakistan all-rounder, and Dale Steyn, a South African paceman, are all included on the list. With 439 Test wickets, Steyn is recognized as one of the best fast bowlers of his period. The list is completed by Australian Rachael Haynes, who won six ICC competitions and the gold medal at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, and the Kiwi team of Amy Satterthwaite and Ross Taylor.

the new life members of the MCC
West Indies’ Merissa Aguilleira (2008–2019)
India’s M.S. Dhoni (2004–2019)
India’s Jhulan Goswami (2002-2022)
England’s Jenny Gunn (2004-2019)
Pakistani actor Muhammad Hafeez (2003-2021)
Aussie Rachael Haynes (2009-2022)
England’s Laura Marsh (2006–2019)
The Englishman Eoin Morgan (2006-2022)
Bangladesh’s Mashrafe Mortaza (2001-2020)
Kevin Pietersen – Great Britain (2005-2014)
India’s Suresh Raina (2005-2018)
Raj, Mithali – India (1999-2022)
New Zealander Amy Satterthwaite (2007-2022)
India’s Yuvraj Singh (2000-2017)
Anya Shrubsole – United Kingdom (2008-2022)
South African Dale Steyn (2004–2020)
New Zealander Ross Taylor (2006-2022)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in cricket

%d bloggers like this: