Connect with us

Commonwealth Games

A look at some of the highlights from the CWG 2022 India-Australia Women final India lose by 9 runs to Australia, but still take the silver medal in the tournament

CWG 2022 IND W vs AUS W Final Match Highlights: India skipper Harmanpreet Kaur played a gritty knock of 65 runs, but she was unable to save India from a defeat as Australia won the match by nine runs to capture the inaugural Commonwealth Games cricket gold medal. The match took place in 2022.

The Women’s Final Match of the 2022 Commonwealth Games will feature India and Australia. The courageous performance of India’s skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, who scored 65 runs, was not enough to save her team from losing the match, which Australia won by nine runs to take the first-place spot in the cricket competition at the Commonwealth Games. In their attempt to reach 162, India suffered costly losses in the form of Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma. Harmanpreet and Jemimah Rodrigues put up 96 runs together for the third wicket before the latter of the two lost her wicket on the score of 33.

Ashleigh Gardner was able to dismiss Harmanpreet and Pooja Vastrakar off successive deliveries, which allowed Australia to take command of the situation. Following that, India continued to lose wickets at regular intervals, and they were eventually bowled out for 152 runs in 19.3 overs. Earlier, Australia reached 161 for 8 in 20 overs thanks to Beth Mooney’s score of 61 runs off 41 balls. With her outstanding fielding, Radha Yadav had swung the match in India’s favour and won them the game. She began by getting Meg Lanning out of the game, and then she made a spectacular catch to get Tahlia McGrath out of the match. After an early blow to their innings, Australia had been rescued by a solid attack from Mooney and Lanning, which allowed them to rebuild their innings.

This event followed. Renuka Thakur had made an early attack, which resulted in the elimination of Alyssa Healy. Currently, the last match for the Commonwealth Games 2022 is underway, and Australia’s captain, Lanning, has won the toss and decided that his team will bat first against India.

The team captained by Harmanpreet Singh advanced to the championship match after claiming a victory over England by a score of just four runs. In contrast, Australia defeated New Zealand by a score of five wickets in order to move on to the next round. It is important to point out that Australia has not yet suffered a defeat in this competition. They finished first in Group A with a perfect record of three wins, then advanced to the semifinals by defeating New Zealand. It is interesting to note that Australia had also triumphed over India in the group stage, claiming victory with a three-wicket victory over the Harmanpreet-led side in a game that was tightly contested.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See


More in Commonwealth Games

%d bloggers like this: